Belgium is a sovereign state and a federal constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary system. It is divided into three highly autonomous regions: [15] the Flemish Region (Flanders) in the north, the Walloon Region (Wallonia) in the south, and the Brussels-Capital Region. [16] Brussels is the smallest and most densely populated region, as well as the richest region in terms of GDP per capita. The Brussels-Capital Region is officially bilingual in French and Dutch, [17] although French is the majority language and lingua franca.[18] Belgium's linguistic diversity and related political conflicts are reflected in its complex system of governance, made up of six different governments. The country as it exists today was established following the 1830 Belgian Revolution, when it seceded from the United Kingdom of the Netherlands, which had incorporated the Southern Netherlands (which comprised most of modern-day Belgium) after the Congress of Vienna in 1815. Belgium is also home to two main linguistic communities: the Flemish Community, which constitutes about 60 percent of the population, and the French Community, which constitutes about 40 percent of the population. Since the Middle Ages, Belgium's central location has meant that the area has been relatively prosperous, connected commercially and politically to its bigger neighbours. Its institutional organization is complex and is structured on both regional and linguistic grounds. A small German-speaking Community, making up around one percent of .the population, exists in the East Cantons