The Lower House was originally formed for the 'common people' therefore it is coloured green. The Upper House was originally known as the 'House of the Lords' therefore it is coloured red (for royalty). The other main role they do is to equal representation of states regardless of the population. The House of Representatives is often referred to as 'The House of Government'. The Senate has 76 senators.