The constitutional system of Russia is based on several key foundations, which are outlined in the Constitution of the Russian Federation adopted in 1993. These foundations collectively shape the constitutional framework of Russia, providing a basis for governance and protection of the rights and freedoms of its citizens. Federalism: Russia is a federal state with a division of powers between the central government and its constituent entities (republics, krais, oblasts, autonomous okrugs, and federal cities). The Constitution outlines the principles of democratic governance, including free and fair elections, separation of powers, and protection of individual rights and freedoms. Constitutional Court: The Constitution provides for the establishment of the Constitutional Court, which is responsible for interpreting the Constitution, resolving disputes related to constitutional matters, and ensuring the constitutionality of laws. Here are some of the main foundations: Sovereignty: The Constitution establishes the Russian Federation as a sovereign state, emphasizing its independence and self–governance. Separation of Powers: The Constitution divides the powers of the government among the executive, legislative, and judicial branches to prevent the concentration of power in one institution.